You are here

The Daniel Rosenthal Legislative Intern Award

Rosenthal WinnerJames Madison College and the MSU Institute for Public Policy and Social Research are pleased to administer the annual Daniel Rosenthal Legislative Intern Award on behalf of Michigan State University. Accordingly, we call upon the assistance of legislators and intern supervisors to nominate students to be honored by this award as outstanding legislative interns. No affiliation with Michigan State University is necessary—all undergraduate legislative interns (MI House or Senate) are eligible for nomination.

Daniel Rosenthal was one of MSU's first Legislative Student Intern Program participants in January of 1977. After his unfortunate passing in June of that year the Rosenthal family established this award to pay tribute to the dignity of Dan's life and acknowledge the value that he placed on his experience as a legislative intern. Thus, to further recognize Dan's enthusiasm, intelligence, sincerity and dedication, monetary award stipends ($200 - $2500) will be awarded to a winner and runners-up who will be chosen from the group of nominees. These selections will be made by a committee composed of representatives from the Michigan House and Senate as well as Michigan State University.

Rosenthal award winnersPlease use the form below to nominate an outstanding intern and have your nominee fill out the attached application. All students (regardless of school affiliation) who have interned after January 1 of the previous year are eligible and may be nominated either by their legislator or staff supervisor. These materials must be returned to (email or mail):
Rosenthal Award Committee
Attn: Katherine Cusick
321 Berkey Hall
509 E. Circle Drive East Lansing, MI 48824-1111
or e-mail:
Deadline to apply: Monday, April 8th, 2024


To register to attend the Rosenthal Award Ceremony click here


All nominees, and winners, their families and supporters will be recognized at a special ceremony in the Mackinac Room of the Anderson House Office Building in mid-April from 11:30 AM – 1:00 PM. An invitation to attend that event will be forthcoming. If you have any questions or comments, please contact: Lauren Michalaks,, James Madison College, (517) 353-6750, or Katherine Cusick, IPPSR, (517) 353-1357,

Past Award Recipient ---- Nominator

  • Will Gooding ----- Rep. Lee Chatfield
  • Travis Colwell ---- Sen. Mike Green
  • Thom Jordan ---- Rep. Thomas Scott
  • Bruce Foster ---- Rep. Bela Kennedy
  • Johanna Durand ---- Rep. Mary Brown
  • Paul Welday ---- Rep. Wilbur Brotherton
  • Susan Zimmerman ---- Sen. William Sederburg
  • Ann Parker ---- Sen. William Faust
  • Kathy Lewis ---- Rep. Curtis Hertel
  • Robinn Churchill ---- Rep. Pat Gagliardi
  • Shandra Shapiro ---- Rep. David Gubow
  • Adrienne Bass ---- Sen. Rudy Nicols
  • Michael Bailey ---- Rep. Michael Bennane
  • Christopher Weiss ---- Rep. Perry Bullard
  • Bryan Roosa ---- Sen. John Engler
  • B. Scott Durham ---- Rep. Bill Martin
  • Jay M. Smith ---- Rep. David B. Robertson
  • Lee Zacka ---- Sen. Dick Posthumus
  • Marcela Kress ---- Rep. John Freeman
  • Cyntia Essenmacher ---- Sen. Bill Bullard
  • Elizabeth Thompson ---- Sen. Mat Dunaskiss
  • Megan Biganeiss ---- Sen. David Jaye
  • Stephanie Ellis ---- Rep. Artina Tinsley Hardman
  • Irene Kepler ---- Rep. Michael Switalski
  • Andrew Kramer ---- Rep. Alexander Lipsey
  • Emily Dievendorf ---- Rep. Alexander Lipsey
  • Adam ElBenni ---- Rep. Larry Julian
  • Amanda Fopma ---- Sen. Michael Switalski
  • Michael Arbanas ---- Rep. Lee Gonzales
  • Nathaniel Knapper ---- Rep. Fulton Sheen & Sen. Ken Sikkema
  • Samantha Mills ---- Rep. Robert B. Jones
  • Gopi Patel ---- Rep. Kevin Green
  • Ashley Morris ---- Rep. Michael Switalski
  • Luke Wagner ---- Sen. Alan Cropsey
  • Travis Colwell ---- Sen. Mike Green
  • Jacob Santangelo --- Rep. Andy Schor & Rep. Rudy Hobbs
  • Noelle Lufkin ---- Rep. Marcia Houey-Wright
  • Kyle O'Meara ---- Rep. Al Pscholka
  • Taylor Thursh ---- Rep Al Pscholka
  • Daniel Cavins ---- Sen. Morris Hood III
  • Kelly Coffee Tavi ---- Office of Lt. Governor Brian Calley
  • John Kochanek ---- Rep. Sarah Anthony
  • Anna Cool --- Sen Sean McCann and Kyle Vickery; Sen. Aric Nesbitt
  • Margaret Amshay --- Rep. Tyrone Carter
  • Justin Kasieta --- Rep. Greg Markkanen